Posted on

High Anxiety

When I first started this blog, I meant for it to be a kind of movie journal for myself where I keep track and write a bit about all the movies I see.  That idea kind of got away from me but I feel like the idea central to it is still sound.  I’d still like to do a post about every movie I see this year, new and old.  But rather than holding myself to extensive write ups on all these movies, its going to vary.  Some will be short like this entry, some will be a bit longer write-ups and anywhere between.  Today, I’m writing about High Anxiety.

It may be lesser Brooks but its still funny.  A loving ode to the master of suspense, Brooks’ High Anxiety fails to deliver the suspenseful thrills that one gets from a Hitchcock film but delivers solid laughs throughout mimicking some of Hitchcock’s greatest moments and characters.  Young Frankenstein works because it successfully emulates the classic horror films that it lovingly homages but High Anxiety fails to deliver in that regard making it only minor Brooks.

Brooks takes the lead role of a psychiatrist framed for murder and on the run.  This melding of Hitchcock’s greatest hits gets some mileage out of old Hitch’s playbooks in the comedy realm but most everything else about the film is a wash.  It’s still worth a watch for some hilarious sequences such as the play on the Psycho shower scene and some amazing comedic performances from Madeline Kahn, Cloris Leachman, and Harvey Korman.

3 responses to “High Anxiety

  1. This is one of my favorite movies of all time, but that’s likely because I was raised on it, so it holds a lot of sentimental value. Having said that–like you say, Madeline Kahn, Cloris Leachman, and Harvey Korman (three of the greatest comedic actors of their generation) brought the goods and, at least for me, that’s enough to make up for a less than perfect plot. Thanks for sharing.

    • Nash ⋅

      I have overly sentimental feelings for Robin Hood Men in Tights but watching it recently, it unfortunately doesn’t hold up, although there are some funny bits still in there. Remember it being uproarious as a kid. That’s why I have a rule not to revisit those movies I loved as a kid anymore. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles will remain a great, gritty crime film on par with Scorsese’s Mean Streets and I refuse to believe differently. 🙂

      • That’s probably a good rule. I have a similar response to High Anxiety. I enjoy it just as much if I watch it alone, but if I’ve talked it up to a person, and then that person agrees to watch it with me, I find myself embarrassed at all the aforementioned talking up. Oh well. Cloris Leachman in that pointy bra is funny, no matter what anyone else might say.

        P.S. TMNJ is awesome, and you should never let anyone tell you otherwise. Also, I once had a pet Australian terrier who looked very much like Splinter.

Leave a Reply

